New Direct3D 12 Feature Level 12_2 (D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_12_2)

DirectX 12 logo

Feature levels in the world of Direct3D 12 are like extensions in the world of OpenGL / Vulkan. A feature level defines an additional set of functionalities and capabilities implemented by the graphics hardware.

In this article, Microsoft has introduced the new feature level 12_2 (or D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_12_2 for developers). This new feature level 12_2 is the official feature level of DirectX 12 Ultimate (see HERE and HERE).

A feature level 12_2 graphics hardware has the following capabilities:

Direct3D feature level 12_2


Direct3D feature level 12_2

The feature level 12_2 will be supported by the following hardware:

  • NVIDIA GeForce RTX and NVIDIA Quadro RTX GPUs
  • AMD RDNA2 GPUs (not yet released!)
  • Intel upcoming discrete GPUs

For developers: to check the support of the feature level 12_2, you can use the following code:

feature_level.NumFeatureLevels = 1;
feature_level.pFeatureLevelsRequested = &requested;

d3d12_device->CheckFeatureSupport(D3D12_FEATURE_FEATURE_LEVELS, &feature_level, sizeof(feature_level));
if (feature_level.MaxSupportedFeatureLevel == D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_12_2)
  // D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_12_2 is supported.

where D3D_FEATURE_LEVEL_12_2 = 0xc200.

The feature level 12_2 is available in the Windows 10 SDK version 20170 and later (current SDK is 19041). The SDK 20170 is currently available via the Windows Insider program.

The public/official Windows 10 SDK can be downloaded from this page.